Radio

Share your experience regarding radio transmitters and broadcasting with other users!

Moderators: Sir Nigel, Nina, pcs, 5r, phpBB2 - Administrators

kirlcheah
New registered user
New registered user

Radio

Post by kirlcheah »

I am a college student and just learned some new stuff for radio. I was just wondering how can i make a transmitter and the receiver unit (something like walkie talkie or ham unit) operating in an unlicensed airwave. What is the range of the unit. What if i wanted to do a unit that can transmit around 200-400km or maybe even more? I understand that is lies in the modulation and demodulation for it to travel further. So can anyone educates me more and provide me with some material to work on? circuit diagram,block diagram and the pcb diagram with the list of the materials wanted for the project. Thank you. And by the way, can a repeater be used for the signal in WiFi? I mean i got a PCMCIA wireless network card from DLINK DWL650 and got a friend lives quite far away using also wireless signal. Can i amplify the signal without disturbing other channels? just for plain Adhoc. not the Infrastructure.
StormiNorm

hope this helps

Post by StormiNorm »

Update: The DWL-650 has newer variants (they no longer have the "axe-head" style antenna housing) that are *not* Intersil Prism based. Linux users beware: the dwl-650 version 2 uses the ADMtek chipset. Trust me, no amount of forcing any orinoco module will work with that card or any later version, go to ADMtek's site and download/compile/install the source. D-Link has changed the chipset on this card at least twice since version 1 without any change in the model number that is typically quoted by vendors.
===============
Beware of buying the DWL-520 PCI card!

It has been described as a Prism II compatible card, but this same model number has three different incarnations.