PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
Need help with connecting rds max to cyber max fm

 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » FM transmitters View previous topic
View next topic
Need help with connecting rds max to cyber max fm
Author Message
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Need help with connecting rds max to cyber max fm Reply with quote
Hi everyone.
I'm Nick, the RDS Software contest winner... and I got last week-end my beautiful reward : the CyberMAXFM 15W (DC 13.8V) DSP and its power supply.
I ordered it without the RDS board, because I already owned one (that helps to test the RDS code...)
Anyway, I mounted the RDS Max 3.0 into the Rack, wired Voltage, grounded, wired DSP out to RDS In and RDS Out to exciter In. When I turn power on, nothing from the DSP is transmitted (no audio and no 19Khz carrier to turn on the stéréo Led on my Tuner) . No led from the RDS board lights.
I tested: Voltage on RDS board=+15V, RDS board bypassed: audio transmitted. If you have any idea? thanks
.Nicolas.
Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:55 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
OK, first thanks for moving the topic here.

Now, first make sure that MPX audio passes through RDS board. Make sure
that everything is wired correctly, ie MPX out and MPX in are not interchanged.

Second, make sure power supply and ground (negative) are connected.

Once you get these above points correctly you will have stereo etc working.

By the way, do not connect I2C from RDS to stereo encoder or anywhere else. Leave it open.

Keep us posted.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:00 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
"first make sure that MPX audio passes through RDS board. Make sure
that everything is wired correctly, ie MPX out and MPX in are not interchanged."
--> the MPX audio is wired like that:
audio -> Stereo Encoder -> RDS In - RDS Out -> exciter In
I checked that I haven't switched between MPX In and Out on RDS board.


"Second, make sure power supply and ground (negative) are connected.
Once you get these above points correctly you will have stereo etc working."
-->I wired power supply like that: for the positive, I added a wire between Switch output on MaxProIII board and screwed RDS board on the ground (negative) of the rack. Is that correct?

"By the way, do not connect I2C from RDS to stereo encoder or anywhere else. Leave it open."--> Ok, anyway I just left I2C alone...
If you want Marko, I can send a picture of the rack with evething mounted and wired if you need?
Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:01 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Picture would really be helpfull.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:45 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Here there are the pics:
SE4DSP:
MAXPRO3 :
RDS3:
RDS3-BACK :
CYBERMAX15W :

If that can helps Pray Pray


.Nick.[/img]
Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:32 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
I was hoping you'd be sending this to my email

Anyway, next to check would be whether any of your audio coax cables are in short, this happens quite easily
and often. Inner cable's isolation is sensitive to heat and can melt, creating short with the outer layer.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:41 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
For the pics, that's true it would have been easier by email...
Let's say it was to test the new website interface... Liar Liar

About the cables: I tried to bypass the RDS board by putting a little piece of wire between the In and Out of the RDS Board, so the entire wire path was used in this case, and MPX signal was OK for the exciter.
.Nick.
Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:08 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
There is no supply power to the rds board than. Maybe you made a short from rds board to ground
and protection diode died?

Can you measure any voltage on the IC on the RDS board?

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:03 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Here are the voltages I mesured: main RDS supply=+15.31V and on the pins of the 3 ICs, I have voltages between 0.1 and 0.4V max. Does that mean there is no supply on these ICs?
Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:40 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
It is very low. I suspect that at one point you made a short between the ground and power supply somewhere on the board.
This destroys protection diode. Replace this diode or short it and you're good to go.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Feb 25, 2006 3:12 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
where is this diode placed?
Sat Feb 25, 2006 4:03 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Next to the power supply connector, tiny smd 3-pin device.

Short it or replace with bat85 or similar low drop.




_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Feb 25, 2006 5:49 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
So I mesured voltage after this tiny 3 pins device, I have 14 V.
When I follow the path, I go to a transistor that turns very hot!! I think that's the consequence of the problem! this transistor reference is 78L09 - Y0345.
I immediatly turned power off but I don't knows if it hadn't been crashed
Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:34 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Ok, my guess would be that you have a short somewhere on the board. Perhaps this was done by
installing the PCB in the case? Something must be touching the metal somewhere.

There is a good chance that the device will work if you find and remove the short.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:10 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
So I looked carefully the RDS board, but I'm not good enough in that matter to find the problem.
Is there any way to send back the RDS board or would it be cheaper to order a new one?
Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:58 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Sure, mail it over (contact via email for instructions).

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Thu Mar 02, 2006 9:54 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » FM transmitters All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group