PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
RDS Max in combination with PCI Max ?? How to .... ?

 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders View previous topic
View next topic
RDS Max in combination with PCI Max ?? How to .... ?
Author Message
Peter
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 1

Post RDS Max in combination with PCI Max ?? How to .... ? Reply with quote
Hi guys,

I'm planning to buy a RDS Max module for use with my PCI Max card (by the way : it's a great card, I use it all the time).
Before buying it I have some questions :
- is it possible to use it with the PCI Max ?
- I'm aware of the synchronization of the MPX signal with the RDS signal : can PCS-Electronics give me some details of where to cut the MPX signal on the PCI Max board and put the in- and output of the RDS MAX on it. I'm not asking a full schematic, only the place where to cut is ok for me. I know that this has some riscs but I'm an electronics technician so I'm used to work with printed circuit boards .


Thanks in advance.

Peter
Mon Jan 13, 2003 10:38 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Hooking RDS MAX to PCI MAX ULTRA is described in the manual
that comes with RDS MAX.

It requires a bit of soldering, but nothing spectacular.

I will gladly send you a copy of the manual, if you want one.

If you do decide, go for the boxed version since you don't want that
PCB to hang in the air with no support. And if you ask me nicely I will
prepare all the cables so hooking it all will be a breeze.

Also note that we just decreased price for our RDS MAX encoders.
Several outside contractors are working on new versions of driver
so a couple different versions of the driver should be available very
soon.

As far as that "other" cheap RDS encoder from competition goes,
it does not have galvanic isolation from the PC so you may have
problems with ground loops (manifests itself as hum) and the
spectrum of their carrier is not as clean as ours.


Good luck and happy RDS-ing!

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:14 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Patrick B.
Guest





Post "galvanic isolation" Reply with quote
Does this mean that your RDS encoder has also galvanically isolated the analog input? Probably not, does it? Because if I play from a PC and RDS encoder is also driven from it, it has no effect that the data interface is isolated if audio is comming via wires. So I'm a little confused...
Tue Jul 15, 2003 6:25 pm
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Re: "galvanic isolation" Reply with quote
Patrick B. wrote:
Does this mean that your RDS encoder has also galvanically isolated the analog input? Probably not, does it? Because if I play from a PC and RDS encoder is also driven from it, it has no effect that the data interface is isolated if audio is comming via wires. So I'm a little confused...


It would seem so. But the ground of sound card is not equal to the ground
of PCI MAX. Eliminating as many ground loops in the system helps reduce
noise. While the effect is small in combination with PCI MAX, it can be
quite dramatic with standalone transmitters.

A serious professional RDS encoder will always be galvanically separated
from the PC.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Tue Jul 15, 2003 6:42 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post PCI MAX 2005 and RDS MAX 30 Reply with quote
Howdy!

Just wanted to let you knwo that it is easy to connect
PCI MAX 2005 and RDS MAX 30, if you run it in mono.

If you run PCI MAX 2005 in MONO, you can simply
use one of the two audio channels to feed output from
RDS Eecoder and the other channel for audio.

Of course you loose stereo mode, but it works great.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Fri Sep 02, 2005 12:08 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group