PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
PCI MAX 2005/2006 Doesn't work-Read here for driver solution
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » PCI MAX transmitters View previous topic
View next topic
PCI MAX 2005/2006 Doesn't work-Read here for driver solution
Author Message
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post PCI MAX 2005/2006 Doesn't work-Read here for driver solution Reply with quote
Can Anyone help, I have read this forum from one end to the other, and still don`t have software to operate my card, the computer sees the card and then ask for the software I have tried the software that came with the card, software for 2004 card, downloaded the software from PCS, and also tried the software i had for my 2002 model card and NONE of them work, I would really like to get my station up and going again, I had been waiting on my amplifier to come in from repairs, and the card I thought was working because I could hear it through my radio, BUT when i got my amp back, (which operates at 100mW) I doesn`t even register on my SWR meter so I have no control of the card.

Drumman

Edit by Nigel:

If you're having problems with your card please read:

Just to recap what's going on. For those using the 2005 and 2006 card, just about no one is able to run it using the 2005 drivers (or continue to use if with the drivers). If you can get the driver to work in the first place you're fortunate, however likely it will say "failed locking device" soon and you'll have to follow this fix:

First it's recommended that you first try to remove all versions of the driver and simply use the 2004 version. If that doesn't work, sometimes it helps to also install the 2005 drivers (so their files are simply on the computer) after the 2004 ones and then try running the 2004 application and see if that helps.

Fri Dec 02, 2005 1:29 am View user's profile Send private message
Sir Nigel
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 334
Location: us.gif
us.gif

Post Reply with quote
You need to provide a little more information. In what way does the card not work? Do the drivers fail to install?

_________________
-empty-
Sat Dec 03, 2005 6:29 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
yes the drivers will not install, they will from the 2004 folder BUT they won`t work, and when i direct it to the 2005 RDS folder it don`t show any drivers available.

Drumman
Sun Dec 04, 2005 1:59 am View user's profile Send private message
Sir Nigel
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 334
Location: us.gif
us.gif

Post Reply with quote
Going off of what others have reported, at least try to use the card with the 2004 drivers first. Uninstall everything (items under Add/Remove Programs and delete the Program Files folders for the PCI Max Cards), now install the 2004 drivers and when Windows asks for the drivers direct it to the folder containing them in Program Files.

If any of this doesn't work, please explain exactly what type of error you are getting.

_________________
-empty-
Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:20 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
I am getting multiple errors when i launch PCI MAX 2004 v.2.0 after closing out all errors the card doesn`t work one of the errors is that it can`t find the card I have moved it to other PCI slots and am still getting the errors tried to add the 2005 inf file and the computer doesn`t see it I have tried using XP home, XP Pro, Windows 98SE, and it doesn`t work with any of them.
Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:47 am View user's profile Send private message
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
When are the new drivers for the 2006 going to be posted? you say that they are going to work for the 2005 model also
Tue Dec 06, 2005 6:34 pm View user's profile Send private message
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
Just wanted to give an update, I did finally get the card to work on the 2004 software BUT the output is VERY low less than 100mW because the amp that I`m using was built to run at 100mW and it`s not putting out anything. But I am getting a signal out to about 50 feet
Wed Dec 07, 2005 5:15 am View user's profile Send private message
anhisr
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 40

us.gif

Post Reply with quote
When do you think the 2006 drivers will be in the download section? I see the 2006 have shipped
Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:45 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
drumman wrote:
Just wanted to give an update, I did finally get the card to work on the 2004 software BUT the output is VERY low less than 100mW because the amp that I`m using was built to run at 100mW and it`s not putting out anything. But I am getting a signal out to about 50 feet


Ok, here is a workaround for everyone unable to set full power:


A small solder bridge will give you power.
The power adjustment slider in windows will still work as before.
It is recommended that you set the power slider in Windows to zero
after using the card.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:57 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
O.K. I will try it and see what happens, when the new software gets posted will i need to undo the bridge or will it be o.k. to just leave it as is as long as the output isn`t too high for my amp?

drumman Think
Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:49 am View user's profile Send private message
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
I`m Still not working, I did the bridge you said made no difference, I did a fresh install of XP PRO, I don`t get any errors now BUT I also am not getting any output, well not enough to drive my amp. Guess I`ll wait until friday for the new drivers and hope they work.

drumman d'oh!
Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:04 am View user's profile Send private message
Sir Nigel
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 334
Location: us.gif
us.gif

Post Reply with quote
I've done some testing with the 2005 card myself. The solder bridge didn't increase the power for me either. If anything I noticed that the stereo output was stable, as I wasn't getting a very consistent signal before. There just isn't enough output still and my amp will only produce about 5 watts with the power set to max. I'm back to still using my 2004 card.

_________________
-empty-
Thu Dec 15, 2005 6:28 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
Well I don`t know what to do from here then the card is brand new never even used it and now it looks like I`m going to have to order another one, that sucks, why didn`t they test this model more before putting it out to the consumer?

drumman
Thu Dec 15, 2005 8:01 pm View user's profile Send private message
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
Just wanted to let you know I plugged in my old 2002 PCIMAX card today and guess what it works, I have an input problem with it that is why i ordered the new card but at least i know that my problem doesn`t lie in the software but seems to be in the hardware, I also moved the card to other PCI slots in my computer and it worked in all of them. SOOOO my guess is thier is a problem with the 2005 card.

drumman
Sun Dec 18, 2005 1:11 am View user's profile Send private message
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
O.K. I put the 2002 model card in the computer the computer saw the card and i told it to install the RDS2005 drivers and it did I rebooted the computer and then told it where the 2002 card was and it installed the rds2005.inf file and the windrv6.inf file and the card info was showing in the sound,audio,media section of device manager so I turn off the computer installed the 2005 card rebooted the computer and it said it had found new hardware and asked for location of the drivers so I pointed it to the rds2005 folder as before with the 2002 card and the computer said no drivers for this item at that location.So I have done all I know to do, I am a Computer technician, and this is the first time I have ever ran up on anything like this before, so I guess I`ll quit trying for now and wait for the 2006 drivers and start working at it again.
Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:21 am View user's profile Send private message
Sir Nigel
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 334
Location: us.gif
us.gif

Post Reply with quote
The 2005 drivers have never worked for me. I did figure out that they seem to be missing a "windrv.inf" as everytime I use those drivers I get asked for the file, however using the file already in my sytem folders doesn't do the trick and the 2005 interface doesn't recognise the card even thought the driver instalation completed.

_________________
-empty-
Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:54 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
So what am I supposed to do with the card????????????
i have tried all the drivers from the web sight plus the drivers from my old card and none of them work.

drumman
Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:08 pm View user's profile Send private message
Sir Nigel
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 334
Location: us.gif
us.gif

Post Reply with quote
Contact Marko directly and see if you can trade the card for the new one. I've had the same problems you have with the 2005, but the 2006 has more power.

One last thing you can try is adding an external power supply to the xmitter. At least 13v and a watt should work.

_________________
-empty-
Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:00 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
Well I tried hooking up an external power supply and it worked BUT the output was way to low for my amp and after a while of messing with it it stopped working again even with the power supply attached to it. So I guess I`m e-mail Mark like you said.

thanks drumman
Tue Dec 20, 2005 5:24 am View user's profile Send private message
drumman
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
I tried to contact Marko but I haven`t heard from him so I don`t know If I used a direct e-mail or not. I was really wanting to get things going by now but i guess I`ll just have to wait.

drumman
Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:25 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » PCI MAX transmitters All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group