PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
Power Meter

 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » Users share experience... View previous topic
View next topic
Power Meter
Author Message
zael
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 17

Post Power Meter Reply with quote
Hi, I'd like to know how to use a Volt meter to measure the output power in the MAXPRO 1, since I don't have a SWR meter for adjusting the transmitter, or another suggestion.
Thanks.
Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:00 pm View user's profile Send private message
znight
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 28

Post woa Reply with quote
umm.

I'll say it before and i'll say it again. I'm no electronics genius, but I don't think that's possible.

-Z-
Wed Dec 18, 2002 4:30 am View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
zael
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 17

Post Reply with quote
oh yes it is my friend, it´s a power meter/dummy load, I saw a little information about it in other site, and seems it works, I just wanted to know how to use it more exactly with the MAXPRO1.
Wed Dec 18, 2002 9:37 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post ok Reply with quote
You need a SWR meter to align your antena.

MAX PRO I does have a crude "power meter",
but this is merely for tuning the output stage
and is not suitable for tuning your antena.

You need a true SWR meter.

The 5W booster does, however, have a SWR bridge onboard
and you can use this to measure SWR and power.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Wed Dec 18, 2002 11:15 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
A. Wizard
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 5
Location: N.E. Ohio

Post SWR metering Reply with quote
See if you can locate an average CB SWR meter and a 50 ohm dummy load. Test the meter on the dummy load. If you get a reflected reading of 1:1 or close to it, the meter is probably reliable enough for FM work. Most of the meters I have work up to at least 150 MHz (2m ham band), even one real cheap one. Used CB equipment is pretty easy to come by.

To use a voltmeter to measure output power, you need to make a simple RF probe (a diode and capacitor)and use a high-impedance voltmeter (not the $10 little black box type). Once you know the voltage, some simple algebra (Ohm's law) will calculate the wattage. If you need more details, let me know.
Fri Jan 03, 2003 11:54 pm View user's profile Send private message
zael
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 17

Post Reply with quote
ok, I knew it was something like that, I'm just trying to know when I have higher output in the MAX1. Thanks.
Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:55 pm View user's profile Send private message
daniel
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 7

Post a link Reply with quote
here's a link that tells you more about how to measure wattage with a volt meter

http://braincambre500.freeservers.com/wattmeter.htm
Thu Feb 06, 2003 9:01 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » Users share experience... All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group