Best Webcast Service Providers

Share your experience regarding radio transmitters and broadcasting with other users!

Moderators: Sir Nigel, Nina, pcs, 5r, phpBB2 - Administrators

CaLLe
New registered user
New registered user

Best Webcast Service Providers

Post by CaLLe »

Hi,

Before I buy the xmitter gear, I want to go ahead and start the station online.

Can I get everyone's opinion as to who is the best web radio service provider / host?

Thanx.

DoN CaLLe
anon
Regular poster
Regular poster

Post by anon »

www.indymedia.org seems to be a popular streaming service provider for community radio, LPFM, and pirates. I think they charge little or nothing for the service too. I have no personal experience with them though.

www.live365.com also seems to be a popular one with a more commercial slant but again, I haven't used it myself.

I'd be really interested to learn how you end up running you stream since it's something I haven't done yet but would like to do. Out of curiosity, does anyone on this message board pay music licensing fees either for their radio broadcast or their internet stream? Is it even necessary to pay a license fee to stream commercial music that you own the CDs or mp3s to? Just curious...
CaLLe
New registered user
New registered user

WebCasting

Post by CaLLe »

I've been doing lots of research and have found that you basically have two options:

a) Pay by usage of bytes transferred (Depends on amount of users who log on, how long they listen to your webcast and at what quality.)

b) Pay a flat monthly fee by limiting the amount of listeners at any one time as well as the maximum bitrate quality of your stream (8k, 32k, 64k, 128k, etc.)

These are considering you are streaming 24/7.

You can also upload canned material to their server for "on demand" listening. This is not a bad option as it is cheaper and you can have live stream "windows" in which you can cut in for a live show.