PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
Problem with RDS MAX 2.0
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders View previous topic
View next topic
Problem with RDS MAX 2.0
Author Message
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Problem with RDS MAX 2.0 Reply with quote
Hello Marko,

Today I get my RDS MAX 2.0 encoder.
I am using a other transmitter and stereocoder but my RDS is not working. Ofcourse I have connected the RDS encoder exactily as in schema and I have sound but no RDS.
Allso no RDS when I connect without stereo encoder.
Some years I had a other RDS encoder connected with the same transmitter and it was working very good. So I have some experience with RDS.

Can you give me some tip? Maybe forgot something but don't know what.

Pitty wait so long and now I receive today but disappoint because not work.
Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:49 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Contact me via email, I think I know what could be a problem.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:05 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Marko,

I have yesterday contact you by e-mail about this RDS problem but get no answer, and I hope you have not forget me.

Ron
Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:19 pm View user's profile Send private message
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
liberty wrote:
Marko,

I have yesterday contact you by e-mail about this RDS problem but get no answer, and I hope you have not forget me.

Ron


Maybe somebody else had the same problem and can give me some tips?
Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:26 pm View user's profile Send private message
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
RDS encoder still not work (((( and Marko don't know the answer.
Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:02 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
I have the answer!!!

1.) First, it could be that your transmitter requires more RDS level
than our test transmitters.

It is easy to increase the RDS carrier level:
Under C36 add 1nF capacitor in parallel
This should increase carrier level enough.

2.) Second, we have finally discovered today why some tuners
have a problem with the signal from RDS MAX 20. A bit of
delay is required, that's all. This requires a change of one
resistor. Look for C34, this is next to two small SMD chips.
A 1K resistor can be found under C34. This 1K resistor should
be removed and replaced by 8K2 resistor.

I recommend this second update to anyone who has RDS MAX 2.0
at home. Of course all RDS MAX shipping from today (March 7)
have both these updates.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:16 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Hello Marko,

I will try this and let you know if it works.

Friendly regards

Ron
Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:27 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Sorry it took so long. Have fun!

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:29 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Tonight I have try the update but without RDS result. Allso not shortly.
I have try again with and without stereo encoder.
I use a FM transmitter and use frequency 97.00 Mhz


In home I use a RDS manager from Conrad and this RDS decoder works good. This RDS manager is connected with my Technics tuner and allways have good result of RDS of all radio stations in cable and in the air. Without problems.

Now I have testing: Connect a wire between the mpx output of the RDS MAX 2.0 and the mpx input of the RDS decoder (Conrad RDS Manager, see picture)
And now I get RDS in the screen.
So RDS max 2.0 works but not with my transmitter.
In home .
Do you have some tip?
Next week I will visit my friend and try a other transmitter.

Tue Mar 08, 2005 11:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
erobertg
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 Oct 2004
Posts: 113

Post Hmmm... Reply with quote
99.1 is in fact the frequency of WPLR out of New Haven, CT. I can pick them up in Western Mass. And you're from the Netherlands? Good Reception!
Wed Mar 09, 2005 1:26 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
I see two possible causes:

1.) Too low RDS signal since your transmitter requires more drive.
Did you try this one? Turn rds level trimmer to full, also set
tx sensitivity to full, if adjustable, for a test at least.

2.) Your transmitter is filtering signal above 15KHz (mono input
instead of stereo input). Make sure you feed signal to MPX input
and not MONO input.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:47 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
erobertg, The RDS manager I have found in internet is only for example, ofcourse I can not receive WPLR here in the Netherlands.

Marko, the transmitter I use have only one input allso for MPX and for mpx from stereo encoder no problem at all.
And some years ago allso use a other RDS encoder with this transmitter and works good for RDS in combination with stereo.

I have try as a test with maximum level of RDS but without result.
Next week I will test the rds encoder with other transmitter.

Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:15 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
This is very unusual as if it works with RDS manager it should
also work with transmitter.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:56 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Still no RDS in combination with the transmitter so I have testing now only directly with the RDS manager from Conrad.


It is no problem when I connect the output with the RDS manager?

But when I connect this in normally way I get "NO RDS" display.

So I get only RDS when I connect the plus of the mpx output only with only the "-" of the RDS manager of Conrad.

Really strange.

Tomorrow evening I get a other transmitter for testing the RDS max 2.0

Can you explain why I get only in this way RDS in display.
Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:51 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
No, but it seems something strange is going on there.

I am pretty sure that if I attach your RDS to any transmitter
here in our lab it will work without a problem.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:37 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
RDS still not work, I have send a e-mail about this.
Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:01 am View user's profile Send private message
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Ok maybe RDS not work in combination with my stereo coder because RDS need extern 19 khz pilot and without no syncronisation so allso no RDS.

But how you can explain this? When I wanna use RDS in mono so without a stereocoder. RDS still not works.

There allso people who want to broadcast in mono and in pdf manual I can read that RDS allso works in mono but my RDS still not work.
Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:31 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
There might be a problem with your setup there, but I can't know that
remotely. It is best that you send it back so I can look at it.
I promise to do it fast and send it back asap.

When you are ill you have to see the doctor, you can't have
him check you out over the phone.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:02 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
liberty
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
I will send RDS max 2.0 back complete with my stereo encoder.
Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
OK, I'll make sure for you they are connected correctly.

I'll check how your stereo coder is working as well, did you
make it yourself?

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Fri Mar 11, 2005 1:43 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group