PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
Stereoencoder
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » Users share experience... View previous topic
View next topic
Stereoencoder
Author Message
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Stereoencoder Reply with quote
Hello

I have plans and buy a stereo encoder to my Max Pro 3.(Tired of mono sound now )
Today, I have a cable between the studio and the transmitter, it's at about 90meter long with RCA plug in the end. I don't have much noise and any another interference, only a bad soundcard.

Will it work fine with a stereoencoder then? (it is boring and buy something that will not work so well)

Maybe it's hard to answer?

I have put a file with this post with a record from my station, so you can hear.

The file --> http://www.dump.no/files/6da61af97242/Untitled3.mp3

And another question:
Today my setup is like this:
Computer -> Mixer -> Limbo 1 -> Back to mixer (amplifies the sound) -> To transmitter

When I set the Limbo with the transmitter, the sound is wery low. Remains: The cable is about 90meters long.( I got to much loss) But when I do it like this: Computer -> Mixer -> Limbo 1 -> Back to mixer (amplifies the sound) -> To transmitter, it works good.

If I buy a stereoencoder, Do I have an extra amplifier? Or have the stereoencoder higher volume than the RCA plug on the transmitter?

Is this OK? http://www.pcs-electronics.com/se3-p-667.html

Long post
Hope someone can help
Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:11 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
I recommend that you get the new SE3000 stereo encoder.

Why?

- It has balanced inputs, this way the noise from long cable is mostly eliminated
- It has the compressor part taken from Limbo I (that you seem to like and you should, it is nice)
- Its output volume is high and you will not need the amplifier anymore
- Its got very sharp analog filters, very good stereo separation
- Upgrade path to RDS assured, just plug in RDS daughter board (4000 mini)

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:25 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
Okei
A few more questions:

Can I still use the RCA plugs?

Do I need the Limbo 1 in the studio more?

Is it easy to connect the transmitter? Do I need soldering? ( I hate that )

I think about it. It's sound very nice.

Marko: Please check your mail
Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:20 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
1. Yes

2. You don't need limbo anymore

3. Everything is with connectors

4. Yep, its pretty good indeed

M

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Jun 14, 2008 2:37 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
klaas kramer
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Location: urk
nl.gif

Post Stereo Coder Reply with quote
And SE3000 is an older version but much cheaper.
And SE5000 DSP+ is the newest version with a lot upgrades.

http://www.pcs-electronics.com/se5000-stereo-encoder-p-1274.html


(if you didn't know)


Last edited by klaas kramer on Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:34 pm; edited 2 times in total
Sat Jun 14, 2008 3:59 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
Okei,
But if I put the limbo with the transmitter the sound is very low.
Have the SE 3000 higher input level?

And:
What cable used to connect and transmitter and stereoencoder together?
Sat Jun 14, 2008 4:59 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
You did not read above?
- Its output volume is high and you will not need the amplifier anymore

The connector for output is RCA /Cinch.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Jun 14, 2008 6:46 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
Input level =)
Not output
Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:04 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Important is output level here, it will be ok.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:39 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
Ok, then will I trust you
Did you read my mail?
Sat Jun 14, 2008 7:44 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Yes, the answer is in the mail.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:01 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
Have this better sound than Limbo 1 compressor?
I want crisp and good sound

And can I get the sound just as high as a commercial station?

Is the cable to connect the st.encoder and transmitter included?

Do you have this available in stock now?

Apologize if I nag, but I want to be sure before I buy
Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:42 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Yep, the sound is good, but to sound like a commercial station I recommend
something like SAM (software).

Cable is not included, but you can get that in every electronics or PC or radio
shop.

SE3000 AN+ is set to enter smd placement this week meaning they would be
shipping around next monday.

SE5000 dsp+ is in stock for immediate shipment, though.

RDSMAX 4000 daughter boards are in stock as well.

SAM broadcasting software is in stock.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:21 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
I use SAM alredy

Is it standard RCA cable like we use to transmitter?

I think you have an order from me next week once
Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:11 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Yes, standard rca cable. Do you still have rca on your max pro fm exciter?
If yes, its a no-solder job

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:27 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
I have not changed anything

But i don't understand how a one cable with one RCA plug can give real stereo signal
Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:34 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Its called MPX. Imagine, it only occupies one "radio channel", not two,
when you transmit in stereo.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:27 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
Okei, then I understand a little bit more.

Can this Stereoencoder be placed in the studio, or must it be placed close to transmitter?
Sun Jun 15, 2008 7:02 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Usually close to transmitter

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:09 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djhubbalubba
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 77
Location: In Studio

Post Reply with quote
Okei.
Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:32 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » Users share experience... All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group