PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
350mW or 1 watt.... HOW CAN I TELL!!!!

 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » PCI MAX transmitters View previous topic
View next topic
350mW or 1 watt.... HOW CAN I TELL!!!!
Author Message
ssmith88
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

Post 350mW or 1 watt.... HOW CAN I TELL!!!! Reply with quote
I have the new PCI max 2006+ and It is only putting out 1mW. MAX. I would like to find out weather its the 350mW or 1 watt version.
The output seems rather weak, I bought it as the 1 WAtt version, but I can't beleave it is, because it came with no papers and it is way too weak to be 1 watt. Is there any way you can tell the difference between the 350mW and the 1 watt version just by looking at the card.
Also, I saw that the LED on the back of my transmitter is RED, but all the ones in the picture are green. What does this mean?

Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:13 am View user's profile Send private message
Kostyusha
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 16

Post Re: 350mW or 1 watt.... HOW CAN I TELL!!!! Reply with quote
ssmith88 wrote:
I have the new PCI max 2006+ and It is only putting out 1mW. MAX. I would like to find out weather its the 350mW or 1 watt version.


What measuring instrument did you use?

ssmith88 wrote:
The output seems rather weak, I bought it as the 1 WAtt version, but I can't beleave it is, because it came with no papers and it is way too weak to be 1 watt. Is there any way you can tell the difference between the 350mW and the 1 watt version just by looking at the card.
Also, I saw that the LED on the back of my transmitter is RED, but all the ones in the picture are green. What does this mean?


I have an inscription PCI MAX 2006+ at the centre of a circuit board of my 1 watt transmitter. My PCI MAX has red led too.
Is your transmitter transmits anything? Do you use transmitter as PCI unit or outside the PC?[/quote]
Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:48 pm View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
ssmith88
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

Post Reply with quote
Hi,
I had a friend measure it with some type of cell-sight RF meeter. I realy don't know much about those things.
I'm useing it in my computer on the PCI slot.
Could it be possible the card was shorted when I installed it in my PC due to static electricity or something?
By the way, how far of range would you say you get with your 1 watt card?
Thu Jul 13, 2006 4:55 pm View user's profile Send private message
Sir Nigel
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 334
Location: us.gif
us.gif

Post Re: 350mW or 1 watt.... HOW CAN I TELL!!!! Reply with quote
You need to use an external power supply to get higher output. I don't think the PCI power supply is that much.


ssmith88 wrote:
the LED on the back of my transmitter is RED, but all the ones in the picture are green.


Marko, did something get changed?

_________________
-empty-
Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:51 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kostyusha
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 16

Post Reply with quote
ssmith88 wrote:
Hi,
I had a friend measure it with some type of cell-sight RF meeter. I realy don't know much about those things.
I'm useing it in my computer on the PCI slot.
Could it be possible the card was shorted when I installed it in my PC due to static electricity or something?
By the way, how far of range would you say you get with your 1 watt card?


Hi!
As I know, PCI MAX 2006 has max output power 350 mW when installed in the PCI slot. Transmitter do not use external power 12-15 Volts when installed in the PCI slot. And it does not work with external power supply without LCD module. It would give 1Watt output power when it being used outside the computer with external power supply. But... I use my PCI MAX 2006+ outside the PC with external power supply 13,8 Volts. It would give 1 Watt but I see only 350 mW max by professional wattmeter. But... I can receive my radio station with satisfactory quality at a range 13 km! I was shocked. I use 3/4 wave pin antenna on the house-top (25 m from the ground). I have made over this antenna from 165 MHz for 107 MHz by cut some length from the pin and making matched element.
A piece of black wire as antenna was in box with PCI MAX 2006+ when I received it. First time I installed transmitter in my PC and with the piece of wire I could receive a stereo programm in range 50 m from the computer in ferroconcrete building. Test it. Good luck!
Fri Jul 14, 2006 2:53 am View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Re: 350mW or 1 watt.... HOW CAN I TELL!!!! Reply with quote
Sir Nigel wrote:
You need to use an external power supply to get higher output. I don't think the PCI power supply is that much.


ssmith88 wrote:
the LED on the back of my transmitter is RED, but all the ones in the picture are green.


Marko, did something get changed?


If we run out of green leds, we use red. That's about all that changed:)

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:42 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ssmith88
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 4

Post Reply with quote
Is that really TRUE that I CAN'T get 1 watt output if I use my pci max 2006 in the PCI slot even if I hook up a external power supply of 15 v. DC 1 amp??????
Will it will only put out 1 watt in stand-alone mode, not in the PCI slot???
I hope that isn't true!!!!
Sun Jul 16, 2006 6:13 am View user's profile Send private message
PhilJSmith67
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Monee, Illinois, USA

Post Reply with quote
Kostyusha wrote:
As I know, PCI MAX 2006 has max output power 350 mW when installed in the PCI slot. Transmitter do not use external power 12-15 Volts when installed in the PCI slot. And it does not work with external power supply without LCD module. It would give 1Watt output power when it being used outside the computer with external power supply. ...


My 2006+ doesn't work that way. I get 350mW at Power Level 15 (max) when I run the card off the PCI bus's power only. When I plug a clean 15VDC power supply into the card, even while it is transmitting, power immediately jumps up to approximately 1W at Power Level 15. When I disconnect the external power, it immediately drops back to 350mW. I do not have the LCD display.

I am measuring the signal strength inline between the card and the feedline to the antenna. I can also verify the proportional change in field strength with an FS meter situated near the dipole antenna.
Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:25 am View user's profile Send private message
Kostyusha
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 16

Post Reply with quote
PhilJSmith67 wrote:
Kostyusha wrote:
As I know, PCI MAX 2006 has max output power 350 mW when installed in the PCI slot. Transmitter do not use external power 12-15 Volts when installed in the PCI slot. And it does not work with external power supply without LCD module. It would give 1Watt output power when it being used outside the computer with external power supply. ...


My 2006+ doesn't work that way. I get 350mW at Power Level 15 (max) when I run the card off the PCI bus's power only. When I plug a clean 15VDC power supply into the card, even while it is transmitting, power immediately jumps up to approximately 1W at Power Level 15. When I disconnect the external power, it immediately drops back to 350mW. I do not have the LCD display.

I am measuring the signal strength inline between the card and the feedline to the antenna. I can also verify the proportional change in field strength with an FS meter situated near the dipole antenna.


It is very interesting! I'll try this as soon as I can.
Can we get 1 W in stand along mode with external power supply? Waiting of Marko's comment.
Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:44 am View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Of course you can. You only need external power supply in any situation to activate full power.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:54 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kostyusha
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 16

Post Reply with quote
pcs wrote:
Of course you can. You only need external power supply in any situation to activate full power.

I use external power supply 13.8 V, but output power is under 500 mW. Why?
Thu Jul 20, 2006 11:55 pm View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
5r
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 26 Jan 2002
Posts: 61
Location: Radio Land
us.gif

Post Reply with quote
what kind of instrument are u using for this mesurment?
Fri Jul 21, 2006 7:53 am View user's profile Send private message
Kostyusha
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 16

Post Reply with quote
5r wrote:
what kind of instrument are u using for this mesurment?

wattmeter Telewave 44A.
Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:22 pm View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number
cliffyk
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 43
Location: 87.9 to 107.9
us.gif

Post Reply with quote
Kostyusha wrote:
5r wrote:
what kind of instrument are u using for this mesurment?

wattmeter Telewave 44A.


The 44A is rated for +/- 6% accuracy at FM broadcast band frequencies, this is +/- 6% of full scale. So at the 5W setting it will be accurate within +/- 300 mW meaning that a meter reading of 500 mW could really be anywehere from 200 to 800 mW--if (a big IF) a bunch of other factors (line impedance, dummyload/antenna impedance, etc.) are within the specs at which the meter accuracy was meaured.

Accurate low power RF measurments cannot really be made with instruments like the 44A--you need a lab grade power meter.

One last issue, the specs for the PCI 2006+ indicate that a 15 V external supply is needed for 1 W output, your 13.8V power supply is obviously some 1.2 V less than that.

So, if we very crudely project the power increase using 15 V would deliver (about 18%) and multiply that times the potential high-end real value of the 500 mW you measured (800 mW). we get 0.945 W which is within 0.6 dB of 1.0 W...

_________________
-cliff knight-
My Miata
Sat Jul 22, 2006 2:43 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » PCI MAX transmitters All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group