PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
For programmers - RDS MAX 30 creative programming contest
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders View previous topic
View next topic
For programmers - RDS MAX 30 creative programming contest
Author Message
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Ok, so DJ Frank
what's up with the 0.9.4 version? Doesn't it freeze anymore?
Are you interested in being the 0.9.5 beta tests guy?
Regards.
Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:16 am View user's profile Send private message
DJ Frank
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Hi Nicolas,

Version 0.9.4 has frozen on etime (after working well 2 days!), but since I'm not sure what happened there I have not reported it yet.
It happened with non-minimized screen.
The program was on screen, but no RDS was generated, the RT bar on the bottom of the program was showing no characters anymore. (I had put it on monitoring RT)

Then I minimized the program, and immediately I got the same situation as before. Could not maximize anymore, just close the program.
After that it refused to start up again, complaining about non existing com port.
Indeed the com port was disabled in the COM tab, and after enabling COM1 (14400) again, it functioned well again.

I certainly want to test 0.9.5, especialy since I think this software is so great that it's really necessary to debug it, so it can be the standard software to use with RDSMAX3.
In fact I wonder why there are no more persons who want to participate in beta testing... (I have seen none in this thread )

At this moment I'm really focused on the freeze problem, in fact if it happens again I consider testing the software on a second PC.

Keep you informed.

regards,

Frank
Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:12 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DJ Frank
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

Post Update Reply with quote
Hi Nicolas,

It seems the program keeps running now.
I have found one possible bug:
If I use Automatic Dynamic PS, the PS screen is blanked after 24hours, as well on the encoder as on the PS preview.
Even if you put it back on static PS, no PS text appears.
Closing the program and starting it up again is the only way to get PS text again.

regards Frank
Mon Mar 13, 2006 5:42 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
A bit off topic, but if anyone has any comments regarding included rds max 30 program,
I am currently working on RDS projects (rds daughter board) and can check any features
or possible bugs, if necessary.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:21 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DJ Frank
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Hello Mark,

I probably don't have to mention it anymore, the bug is still there:
http://www.pcs-electronics.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1379

No further bugs found here.

Regards Frank
Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:30 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Re: Update Reply with quote
Hi DJFrank
About this possible bug, I need more informations.
You were is Automatic DynPS mode. But what were the other functions (RT, %DYNRT%, %SCHEDULED%). Were you using Scrolling and witch one and were you using "If empty, filling with" or "looping the same PS" functions?
Regards.

Nicolas

DJ Frank wrote:
Hi Nicolas,

It seems the program keeps running now.
I have found one possible bug:
If I use Automatic Dynamic PS, the PS screen is blanked after 24hours, as well on the encoder as on the PS preview.
Even if you put it back on static PS, no PS text appears.
Closing the program and starting it up again is the only way to get PS text again.

regards Frank

Mon Mar 13, 2006 7:41 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
DJ Frank wrote:
Hello Mark,

I probably don't have to mention it anymore, the bug is still there:
http://www.pcs-electronics.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1379

No further bugs found here.

Regards Frank


RT update? Will check it.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:24 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Ok,
so for DJFranck and others who would like to test the last versions, AirDS Server 0.9.5 is out. The client 1.0.2 is out too.
You can update your old versions (both server and client) with the OnlineUpdate function (hit F5, or via the menu).Thanks to inform me when you find some bugs... d'oh!
Regards. Nicolas

----------------[AirDS Server]------------------
[0.9.5 server]
-----[Bug fixes:]-----
-Install shield: always force files reinstallation of .chm, OLU files...
-Ctrl-c shortcut was used to close a form (is also windows copu shortcut)
-Some RDS settings weren't exported in the XML file
-Log file saved in AppPAth\Logs\ directory instead of AppPath directory
-ComPort management updated.

-----[New functions]-----
-RT tab: a default RT function added: when RT (from winamp or scheduled...) is empty, you have the choice to put a default RT string.
-Tray icon management added.
-Client 1.0.2 added in install shield


-----------[AirDS Client]-------------
[1.0.2]


-----[Bug fixes:]-----


-----[New functions]-----
-allow multiple instances of AirDSClient.exe by adding command line arguments: AirDSClient.exe [Ip_Adress] [IP_Port] [ComPort] (-debug)
if Command line is empty, then it uses the Reg settings.
Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:08 pm View user's profile Send private message
DJ Frank
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
GREAT work Nicolas Applause !

AirDS 0.9.5 upgraded very smoothly taking over all settings.
Send to systemtray works fine.
I'll keep it running, RT from txt file and PS scheduled.
See how the software behaves.

Thank you for all the work you've put into it!!!

I'll keep you informed.

Regards,

Frank
Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:34 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DJ Frank
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Hi Nicolas,

AirDS 0.9.5 keeps running fine in the systemtray, no freezes.
But the bug in the scheduled PS as I reported before is still there.

I have filled in different text for each day.
After a couple of hours (don't know the exact time, seems to differ) the PS blanks out, as well on the software as on the encoder (tuner display).
If I look at AirDS server now, I see all fields of PS are blank.
Looking in the scheduler, the current text seems to be erased, nothing there.
It's also not possible to put new text in that place.
After a restart of AirDS 0.9.5, all text is back again .. abracadabra .
I think it's not difficult to reproduce this bug, just fill in the scheduler and "Use Automatic Dynamic PS: %SCHEDULED%".
I have chosen for "fill in looping the same ps" to be sure there is no blank PS screen.

For the rest no problems discovered till so far.
Later on I will try out server & client, to see how this behaves.

Regards,

Frank
Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:10 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
nickFF wrote:
Ok,
so for DJFranck and others who would like to test the last versions, AirDS Server 0.9.5 is out. The client 1.0.2 is out too.
You can update your old versions (both server and client) with the OnlineUpdate function (hit F5, or via the menu).Thanks to inform me when you find some bugs... d'oh!
Regards. Nicolas


Nicolas,

How would you like to develop this program for the tiny RDS daughter board? It works in a similar way,
but can also be connected via PCI bus with COM port remaining an option (it supports both).
Everything else is almost the same, only PS are limited to 40, which is more than enough for 99%
of cases anyway.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Mar 20, 2006 11:31 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Hi DJ Frank
Thanks for your informations about black PS in %SCHEDULED%. I founded some bugs in that part of code, I think yours is part of that... Will be fixed in the 0.9.6 version.
Best regards.

DJ Frank wrote:
Hi Nicolas,

AirDS 0.9.5 keeps running fine in the systemtray, no freezes.
But the bug in the scheduled PS as I reported before is still there.

I have filled in different text for each day.
After a couple of hours (don't know the exact time, seems to differ) the PS blanks out, as well on the software as on the encoder (tuner display).
If I look at AirDS server now, I see all fields of PS are blank.
Looking in the scheduler, the current text seems to be erased, nothing there.
It's also not possible to put new text in that place.
After a restart of AirDS 0.9.5, all text is back again .. abracadabra .
I think it's not difficult to reproduce this bug, just fill in the scheduler and "Use Automatic Dynamic PS: %SCHEDULED%".
I have chosen for "fill in looping the same ps" to be sure there is no blank PS screen.

For the rest no problems discovered till so far.
Later on I will try out server & client, to see how this behaves.

Regards,

Frank

Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:47 am View user's profile Send private message
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Hi PCS
I think I can add one more TAB on Servers and Clients (PCI board TAB) managing the PCI Boards. Anyway, I would need the sample code of your actual soft to understand the PCI protocol you use. I don't think i will integrate that function until 0.9.7 Server version, I will try to debug the DJ Frank's bugs before d'oh! d'oh! .
Best regards




Quote:

Nicolas,

How would you like to develop this program for the tiny RDS daughter board? It works in a similar way,
but can also be connected via PCI bus with COM port remaining an option (it supports both).
Everything else is almost the same, only PS are limited to 40, which is more than enough for 99%
of cases anyway.

Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:55 am View user's profile Send private message
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Hi DJ Franck
I'm working on the 0.9.6 AirDS Server.
I fixed some bugs in the %SCHEDULED% functions, could you validate yours are well fixed also? You can download the exe bęta file at http://airds.free.fr/liveupdate/airds/Betas/AirDS.exe
Best regards and good week end.

Nicolas

DJ Frank wrote:
Hi Nicolas,

AirDS 0.9.5 keeps running fine in the systemtray, no freezes.
But the bug in the scheduled PS as I reported before is still there.

I have filled in different text for each day.
After a couple of hours (don't know the exact time, seems to differ) the PS blanks out, as well on the software as on the encoder (tuner display).
If I look at AirDS server now, I see all fields of PS are blank.
Looking in the scheduler, the current text seems to be erased, nothing there.
It's also not possible to put new text in that place.
After a restart of AirDS 0.9.5, all text is back again .. abracadabra .
I think it's not difficult to reproduce this bug, just fill in the scheduler and "Use Automatic Dynamic PS: %SCHEDULED%".
I have chosen for "fill in looping the same ps" to be sure there is no blank PS screen.

For the rest no problems discovered till so far.
Later on I will try out server & client, to see how this behaves.

Regards,

Frank

Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:22 am View user's profile Send private message
DJ Frank
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Hi Nicolas,

9.0.6 beta is downloaded and running here.
I'll keep you informed about it's behaviour.
Scheduler is running.

Regards Frank
Sat Mar 25, 2006 12:56 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DJ Frank
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

Post Reply with quote
Hi Nicolas,

Report:

The scheduler keeps working fine now.

However I discovered yesterday that I have another problem when AirDS is running together with SAM3.
AirDS sometimes takes so much processor capacity that the "SAM3" broadcaster software causes hickups in the audio.
Normally AirDS takes about 0 - 2% processor load.
Looking at the processor load during moments the music interrupts, I noticed that AirDS took up peaks of 50% and more processor capacity.
This happens during RS232 transmit to the encoder.

Today I tried running SAM3 without using an RDS program, and it runned fine then, so it looks like the disturbance is really caused by high processor load. (SAM3 has already highest priority, but still...)

Used processor is P4 at 2.8GHz having 1GB of memory.

AirDS0.9.6beta has also frozen one time.
It was minimized to the taskbar, and could not be opened anymore.
RDS screen blank.
AirDS.exe took 35% of processor capacity constantly then. (endless loop?)

Using static PS and RT gives less load. (was to be expected)

I don't know if this is really a problem in AirDS, or that my configuration is part of the problem.
Really would like to hear from other users how their experience is.
I did not have these kind of problems with the original PCS RDS3 software.

Regards,

Frank

ps.
I probably will not be able to give quick replies for a few weeks because my internet connection will go down for a while.
Wed Mar 29, 2006 9:46 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Hi Franck
So, to reproduce the bug, could you post, or send me, the exported file of your RDS Document? I posted the Bęta2 version at the same location (http://airds.free.fr/liveupdate/airds/Betas/AirDS.exe). I fixed some other old bugs... (my email: nbastien at freesurf.fr)
Regards.

Nicolas


DJ Frank wrote:
Hi Nicolas,

Report:

The scheduler keeps working fine now.

However I discovered yesterday that I have another problem when AirDS is running together with SAM3.
AirDS sometimes takes so much processor capacity that the "SAM3" broadcaster software causes hickups in the audio.
Normally AirDS takes about 0 - 2% processor load.
Looking at the processor load during moments the music interrupts, I noticed that AirDS took up peaks of 50% and more processor capacity.
This happens during RS232 transmit to the encoder.

Today I tried running SAM3 without using an RDS program, and it runned fine then, so it looks like the disturbance is really caused by high processor load. (SAM3 has already highest priority, but still...)

Used processor is P4 at 2.8GHz having 1GB of memory.

AirDS0.9.6beta has also frozen one time.
It was minimized to the taskbar, and could not be opened anymore.
RDS screen blank.
AirDS.exe took 35% of processor capacity constantly then. (endless loop?)

Using static PS and RT gives less load. (was to be expected)

I don't know if this is really a problem in AirDS, or that my configuration is part of the problem.
Really would like to hear from other users how their experience is.
I did not have these kind of problems with the original PCS RDS3 software.

Regards,

Frank

ps.
I probably will not be able to give quick replies for a few weeks because my internet connection will go down for a while.

Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:19 pm View user's profile Send private message
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post Reply with quote
Hi DJ Franck
with your RDS Document, I reproduced the bug, two times, each one on a different PC running the 0.9.6 Bęta 2 and Bęta 3. I was in debug mode, so I traced where the pb come from. I'm working on it.
Regards

DJ Frank wrote:
Hi Nicolas,

Report:

The scheduler keeps working fine now.

However I discovered yesterday that I have another problem when AirDS is running together with SAM3.
AirDS sometimes takes so much processor capacity that the "SAM3" broadcaster software causes hickups in the audio.
Normally AirDS takes about 0 - 2% processor load.
Looking at the processor load during moments the music interrupts, I noticed that AirDS took up peaks of 50% and more processor capacity.
This happens during RS232 transmit to the encoder.

Today I tried running SAM3 without using an RDS program, and it runned fine then, so it looks like the disturbance is really caused by high processor load. (SAM3 has already highest priority, but still...)

Used processor is P4 at 2.8GHz having 1GB of memory.

AirDS0.9.6beta has also frozen one time.
It was minimized to the taskbar, and could not be opened anymore.
RDS screen blank.
AirDS.exe took 35% of processor capacity constantly then. (endless loop?)

Using static PS and RT gives less load. (was to be expected)

I don't know if this is really a problem in AirDS, or that my configuration is part of the problem.
Really would like to hear from other users how their experience is.
I did not have these kind of problems with the original PCS RDS3 software.

Regards,

Frank

ps.
I probably will not be able to give quick replies for a few weeks because my internet connection will go down for a while.

Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:21 pm View user's profile Send private message
nickFF
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Location: EU, France

Post AirDS software update Reply with quote
Hi everyone
Here is the new AirDS updates. The server is 0.9.6 and the client is 1.0.3.
If Auto update is disable, hit F5 to update your softs.
Thanks to DJ Frank for his helpfull work in debugging...
Best regards.
Nicolas.

Find here the release notes:

[0.9.6 server]
-----[Bug fixes:]-----
-In RT Tab: with DynRT, the caracters unmanged (like accents...) well not replaced in the RDS datas stream
-In Scheduler form: some bugs fixed and better management of %SCHEDULED% keyword
-In document form: Bug in RDS Documents Deletion fixed
-when Import an RDS Document, if the RT file didn't exit, an error could occur: fixed. (CheckFileExistence function fixed)
-Ctrl-X was the close Document Shortcut, but is also the Windows Cut function shortcut... -> changed to Ctrl-Z
-Some bugs fixed in COM port management.
-COM Port DTR disabled
-Manual Dynamic PS bug fixed: with PS delay at 0, the PS Text was stopped instead of being skipped -> fixed
-Manual Dynamic PS bug fixed: with PS delay < 2, the PS delay was forced to 2 on document loading-> fixed
-In PS tab: the 'If Dyn PS is empty, filling with...' function did not manage keywords: fixed.
-In PS tab: in auto Dyn PS, the %DYNRT% was cut at 64 chars: fixed
-In PS tab: in auto Dyn PS, the %SCHEDULED% was cut at 64 chars: fixed
-In RT Tab: better RT update management


-----[New functions]-----

-In PS Tab: A new choice in the Automatic Dyn PS combo: Customized... This choice lets you define your own auto dyn PS including KEYWORDS (%...%)
-In RT Tab: 7 buttons to quickly add the Keywords in RT field
-"Last Preview" and "Last Manual Send" last choices are now stored and recalled for each document.
-Last Tabs used are now stored and recalled
-Last MainForm positions and width are now stored and recalled


-----[Known bugs]-----
-The Import/Export functions only works on Windows XP


-----[Still to come]-----
-PCI Card management will be included in next versions...

[CLIENT 1.0.3]
-----[Bug fixes:]-----
-Com Port DTR Disabled

-----[New functions]-----
Tue May 16, 2006 6:37 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group