PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
Noisy sound card

 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » FM transmitters View previous topic
View next topic
Noisy sound card
Author Message
Antler
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 90
Location: Somewhere between the RJAA and EHAM airports

Post Noisy sound card Reply with quote
I normally use a laptop for handling my music but would like to give the laptop a rest. I have several extra servers sitting around that use on the board sound cards, the sound from these computers is/are very noisy...

Can anyone recommend a sound card that has a good S/N ratio that would be suitable for broadcasting?
Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:18 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
I suspect external USB cards are better. What are you feeding with your sound card?
If its a transmitter, make sure it has balanced inputs. This is a typical application where
balanced inputs make a big difference. Grounds loops pick up lots of noise.

There are some passive (transformer) bal/unbal audio converters available at radio shack,
but not cheap.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:45 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Antler
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 90
Location: Somewhere between the RJAA and EHAM airports

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
There are some passive (transformer) bal/unbal audio converters available at radio shack, but not cheap.

Good point, using balanced inputs had slipped my mind as hadn't been doing that while using my laptop...

Yes, I have balanced inputs on the transmitter and I think I have balanced inputs on the mixing board as well. I will have to check...

If so, will try the an audio converter from radio shack.

Thanks..
Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:39 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Well, if a laptop isn't conneted to mains you probably don't have ground loops,
but for all other cases and desktop pc especially it makes a difference.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:00 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Antler
Compulsive poster:)
Compulsive poster:)


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 90
Location: Somewhere between the RJAA and EHAM airports

Post Reply with quote
Quote:
Well, if a laptop isn't conneted to mains

It is connected to mains most of the time.
Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:06 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » FM transmitters All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group