PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
PCI MAX 3000+ MPX

 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » PCI MAX transmitters View previous topic
View next topic
PCI MAX 3000+ MPX
Author Message
berrall
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 30

uk.gif

Post PCI MAX 3000+ MPX Reply with quote
Hello,

Will the PCI MAX 3000+ accept a full MPX input via the anolouge input? The reason I am asking is I am looking to generate the MPX & RDS signal with Breakaway Broadcast and want to test with the PCI MAX to see the diffrence in sound qaulity with a view of upgrading to the MAX PRO 2000.

Do you think this will be a improvement over the PCI MAX with internal encoder and digital input?

Nick
Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:49 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Set it to mono and give it a try. It might work.

I would not expect a big improvement though.

I recommend a standard compressor / DSP processing, such as built into SAM:

http://www.pcs-electronics.com/broadcaster-radiointernet-streaming-software-p-366.html

With this or other similar sound processing engine you will rock the airwaves.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:47 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
berrall
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 30

uk.gif

Post Reply with quote
I tried it and did not let the full MPX signal pass through. I got very poor stereo seperation.

I already have SAM Broadcaster but found Breakaway Broadcast processor gives a far superior processed sound in every way. I use SAM as the player then into BBP then direct to the PCI MAX.

Without being able to test the diffrence I shall stick with what I have got.

Nick
Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:53 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Ok so use the on-board stereo encoder instead, it is pretty good.

You may find this interesting:
http://www.pcs-electronics.com/revolutionary-wifree-remote-radio-transmitters-p-1966.html

Right now it looks expensive since solar panels + charger + acus cost a lot, but you can
use this also with regular mains power cutting price in half.

Wherever you can get wlan or ethernet you can remotely control the transmitter and
stream audio in noise-free digital form.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:27 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
berrall
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 30

uk.gif

Post Reply with quote
Does the stereo encoder on this card use the Rohm BH1415F or simular coder chip?

Nick
Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:08 am View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
We dont't use these cheap IC in any of our transmitters,
the encoders are discrete as they should be, with MPX filtering etc.


They can be however found in chinese stuff, all of them
have these IC inside.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:14 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
berrall
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 30

uk.gif

Post Reply with quote
I thought so, but as the IC's on the board have their markings removed I wanted to be sure.

On another note how can the poilet level be changed? on my unit the level is set at 5.1kHz according to my analyser which is well below the requirement of 6.0 to 7.5khz. What effect will the lower level it is currently set at have?
The RDS level can be adjusted by the preset on the board but there is no such adjustment for the 19khz tone.

Nick
Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:41 pm View user's profile Send private message
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
It can be changed by changing one resistor value.

However you won't notice any change in audio so it
may be better to leave it as it is since it is working
well anyway.

If you are a perfectionist and still want to change it let
me know and I will email you instructions.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sun Aug 14, 2011 11:51 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
berrall
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 30

uk.gif

Post Reply with quote
Yes please, if you could email the instructions. I will be able to judge then if it is worth undertaking the modification.

Nick.
Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:36 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » PCI MAX transmitters All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group