RDS 4000

All posts related to RDS MAX 1.0 and 2.0 go here!

Moderators: Sir Nigel, Nina, pcs, 5r, phpBB2 - Administrators

Post Reply
PeterNilsson
New registered user
New registered user
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:23 pm

RDS 4000

Post by PeterNilsson »

I have problem with RDS 4000.....

Problem 1:
I have RDS 4000 ... displays types 5000 ??? Why?


Problem 2 (my biggest problem)
I open my RDS program on my computer and make any changing. Send it to my RDS, no problem.....
Make a new changing and will send that to my RDS........ Then i have a problem....

Program closes and give me error.... "Run-time error 8018" why .... i use COM port 3
PeterNilsson
New registered user
New registered user
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:23 pm

Post by PeterNilsson »

I forgot ....

Problem 3:
in my RDS software i will close TA (set it to 0) ...... but my FM instruments says its still on.....
User avatar
pcs
Site master
Site master
Posts: 3131
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Radio Land
Contact:

Post by pcs »

What operating system are you using?

1. Don't send new data until all data was all send. You can see the status of sending in the bottom line.
Are you using some kind of USB to RS232 adapter? These are often quite bad and don't follow comply
with RS232 standard (voltages are much lower than standard specifies).

2. TA also depends on switch (jumper) position, check the manual.
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
PeterNilsson
New registered user
New registered user
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:23 pm

Post by PeterNilsson »

I using windows XP... and connect my RDS with USB to RDS USB (i think its USB i/o interface on RDS)

when i send first command to RDS its no problem. When i sending following command to RDS its hangs with "run-time error 8018" and software programs shuting down.
I can wait 2 days and then open RDS program again and try to send a new command to RDS... i will get run-time error 8018 anyways.


Peter
User avatar
pcs
Site master
Site master
Posts: 3131
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Radio Land
Contact:

Post by pcs »

1. There is no USB on the RDS MAX 4000 board, please email ne several photos of your setup.
When you purchased your product you received email notifications, just reply to that email.

2. Which program/driver are you using to program RDS MAX 4000? Send me a photo or screen capture
of that as well.

You did look at the manual when setting up the com port?

I'd try to use another PC, the problem is almost certainly in software setup or your pc may have
other problem.
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
User avatar
pcs
Site master
Site master
Posts: 3131
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Radio Land
Contact:

Post by pcs »

Regarding "run-time error 8018", you have some other piece of hardware connected to that port,
check any bluetooth adapters, smart card readers or similar.

It can also be other software/driver that is polling COM ports.

Whatever it is report it here so that we know.
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Post Reply