PCS Electronics PCS Electronics - home page PCS Electronics  
RegisterSearchFAQAM & FM Radio transmitters shop UsergroupsLog in
Some RDS MAX3+.0+ questions

 
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders View previous topic
View next topic
Some RDS MAX3+.0+ questions
Author Message
Yagi
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Location: At home

Post Some RDS MAX3+.0+ questions Reply with quote
After using the RDS max for a while i decided to give it a nice 19" box (together with SE4 stereo encoder)

For this i want the RS232 on the back from my 19" casing, to avoid ground loops a like the galvanic separation from the RDS-MAX...
but it's not 100% separated the transmit from the RDS Max to pin2 from the RS232 has some connection with the internal +5Volts.

Can i use only pin3 and pin5 to send data TO! the RDSmax? it seems the program doesn't need any readback from the RDSMAX (maybe pin2 is only needed for firmware upgrade) if i only can use pin3 and pin5 i have 100% galvanic separation! and i can make a 'special' cable for firmware upgrade...

Other thing are those three extra messages... how can i make them to work? i connected the pins to ground, i tried momentary connections but no luck the normal RDS text keeps scrolling like nothng happend.

Then the TA switch, when do i send TA when the switch is open? or when the switch is closed?

And is there any adjustment procedure? there is a moreturn potentiometer on the PCB, is this for the 4uS delay between RDS data and RDS clock? if so how can i measure if this is OK, some receivers have much RDS erros.

Also for the PLL lock, is there i measuring point where i can see that the PLL is locked to the 19Khz (the LED only dims a bit)

A lot off questions and i hope you can help with this great! product.

Greetings Mark
Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:31 pm View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Yagi
Regular poster
Regular poster


Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Location: At home

Post Reply with quote
Hmm ican't edit the post, but i forgot something about the TA switch.

When i measure one point of the switch is connected to GND the other two are connected to the microprocessor, so it's a pull-down switch...
But when i measure on the switch there is almost no difference in opening the switch or closing (not more then +/- 0.2volts) i can hardly think the processor can see the difference between open or closed... is there a pullup resistor missing in the design?

Grtzz Mark
Sun Mar 05, 2006 11:58 pm View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Send me a photo via email so I can see whether this is a final model.

Another thing is that those switches don't work in all modes. I think they
are active in 0.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:15 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
Regarding galvanic isolation, look at the underside of the board and remove the solder bridge from
ground to RS232 connector. This jumper is only needed when updating firmware. We leave it connected
since we upgrade the encoders before shipping. You can remove it.

In normal operation you only need wires to pin 2 and 5 of the RS232.

When you figure out all these little things, it really is a nice unit.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:37 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jannoo
New registered user
New registered user


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

Post Pins Reply with quote
are the pins the (2 and 5) or (3 and 5) ?
Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:14 pm View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
I think 2 and 5

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:19 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pcs
Site master
Site master


Joined: 18 Jan 2002
Posts: 3063
Location: Radio Land

Post Reply with quote
I just checked regarding message switched, they are designed to work
in mode 2 only. If you need different configuration, let me know and I'll
think about extending support to other modes.

_________________
Best regards,
Marko - PCS Electronics
--------------------------------------------------------
Turn your PC into a FM radio station!
http://www.pcs-electronics.com
fax +386 4 2316 128
Sat Mar 11, 2006 1:20 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    PCS-Electronics Forum Index » RDS Encoders All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group